Thursday, August 28, 2014

Book Review: Imogen's Chance by Paula Vince

Imogen's Chance by Paula Vince
Even Before Publishing, April 1st, 2014

Imogen Browne longs to make up for past mistakes before she can move on. She quietly resolves to help the Dorazio family, whose lives she accidentally upset. Her biggest challenge is Asher, the one person who may never forgive her. And he is facing a crisis of his own. Imogen must tread very carefully, as trying to fix things may well make them shatter. A sensitive story about misplaced loyalty, celebrating life and falling in love. Can family secrets concealed with the best intentions bear the light of day?

This is a thoughtful book, in which relationships are not simple. People are not simple, so this means there are secrets, lies and guilt surrounding people. This is the case in this story. Almost all of the characters have something they are atoning for. None more so than Imogen and Asher - the leads in this story.

Paula Vince handles the subject matter well and as a reader I enjoyed watching the relationship between Imogen and Asher evolve and the really nice thing was, neither character saw it coming. Watching them navigate their way through their feelings was sweet and even when their secrets are revealed and almost all seems lost, they prevail.

A couple of things gave me a little trouble in the book. A few scenes were a little crowded with characters. I couldn't tell who was who at one point early in the book, but that was fairly brief. The second thing that troubled me, was the spiritual conversation. When I say that I'm not saying I didn't want spiritual talk in the book. This is a Christian novel and one expects that it be there. What troubled me was that for me the conversation dragged the story a bit. I found it to be a little on the theological side, which distracted me from the story. Some readers might find this the case, but others might not notice it.

Overall Imogen and Asher stand out easily in this story of hope, faith and healing. I liked them and really enjoyed watching their budding romance unfold and prevail. 



Jess' favourite genre is contemporary women's fiction and contemporary romance fiction. She also enjoys historical fiction with a focus on romance. She loves books set in country towns or farms with a cowboy featured in either historical or contemporary settings.

She is currently writing her first novel, a contemporary women's fiction/romance set in a small country town.

Friday, August 15, 2014

Book Review: In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin

In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin
Book 2, Wings of the Nightingale
Revell, 05 August 2014

Bold, sophisticated, and flirtatious, Army Air Force flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, leaving men pining in airfields all across Europe. So how can ruggedly handsome C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper be all but immune to her considerable charms? In fact, he seems to do everything he can to avoid her.

Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer to where they don't want to go. Can they confront the fears and misunderstandings in their pasts?


In Perfect Time is the third and final book in the Wings of the Nightingale series.  Here we finally get to know the real Kay Dobson and hear her story. I've been so looking forward to this story after enjoying the previous two books immensely. I couldn't wait for the book to come out to Australia so I pre-ordered the ebook.

As usual, Sarah brings to life WWII and weaves the story with the setting seamlessly.  At one point in the story the characters find themselves behind enemy lines and despite being tired that evening and not intending to stay up reading, there was no way I could put the book down.

Kay and her attitude has been a curiosity in the earlier books, and pilot Roger Cooper and his renowned avoidance of women an utter mystery.  This combination made a great recipe for anticipation as I started this book. Being finally able to discover the intricacies of their lives and join them as they grew both individually and together was satisfying and exciting - Sarah Sundin did not disappoint!

I loved Kay and Roger - they are both unconventional Christians and unconventional war heroes, making them intriguing and undeniably likeable.  It was a bittersweet ending for me. I was so happy for the outcome for Kay and Roger, but I was sad to say goodbye to the Nightingale girls.  We get to say goodbye to both Mellie and Georgie as well and the three stories are finished and tied up nicely together. 

In Perfect Time is the perfect ending to a beautiful series. I'm ready to go back to With Every Letter and start reading the whole series again!


Helen's favourite genre is historical fiction with a strong romantic element.  She also enjoys contemporary romance, chick-lit and YA.  She's not caught up in the spell of fantasy fiction, despite The Faraway Tree series being a strong influence in her childhood.

Helen is currently working on her first book, a Christian young adult novel set between two opposite but equally fascinating places in Australia.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Book Review: One More Last Chance by Cathleen Armstrong

One More Last Chance by Cathleen Armstrong
Revell, April 29, 2014

Sarah Cooley has come home to Last Chance, New Mexico, for one reason--because it doesn't change. After an engagement gone bad with a man who wanted to change everything about her, Sarah is more than ready for the town whose motto may as well be, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

Chris Reed, on the other hand, wants nothing more than to spark some change in the little town. As the new owner of the Dip 'n' Dine, he's shaking things up to draw folks from all over the Southwest into his restaurant.

As it turns out, the winds of change are blowing into Last Chance--just not in the ways that Sarah or Chris might expect.

With the same evocative writing and fascinating characters that won fans for her debut novel, Cathleen Armstrong invites readers back to Last Chance for a soul-searching, romantic story of two people navigating the twists and turns of small-town life.


This is the second book in The Place to Call Home series by Cathleen Armstrong. In the first book in the series Welcome to Last Chance, I found it hard to get into. Mainly because the author was focusing on so many characters in the town, that the two main characters got lost a bit. I understand how that can happen with a series set in a small place, where the quirky characters are involved and the first book is alot about setting up for the rest of the series.

I was pleased to find that this book was much more focused than the first. The people of the town have been set up, so it was much easier to focus on the two main characters. Overall Sarah Cooley was an interesting heroine. Torn between two men and possibly two very different futures. She is drawn to one man in an almost love hate kind of way and the other is almost too comfortable to stay with kind of way. Her situation is not usual but it was good to see it played out without the drama. It was more of a low key decision, taken in little steps rather than leaps and bounds, which I liked. She's a strong woman Sarah, who doesn't like change, especially in her small town.

Chris Reed represents change and that threatens Sarah - hence the almost love hate she has with him. Chris is awkwardly persistent, it's cute to watch. He isn't suave and he's trying to hold his niece together, whilst running the dinner and trying to fit in with the locals of Last Chance. He's got it tough, but he's up to the challenge and it suits him. He's likeable and engaging to watch.

I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the third book in this series.

 Thank you to NetGalley for a copy of this novel for review.  I was in no way obliged to give a positive review.

Jess' favourite genre is contemporary women's fiction and contemporary romance fiction. She also enjoys historical fiction with a focus on romance. She loves books set in country towns or farms with a cowboy featured in either historical or contemporary settings.

She is currently writing her first novel, a contemporary women's fiction/romance set in a small country town.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Book Review: One Perfect Spring by Irene Hannon

One Perfect Spring by Irene Hannon
Revell, April 29, 2014

Claire Summers is a determined, independent single mother who is doing her best to make lemonade out of the lemons life has handed her. Keith Watson is a results-oriented workaholic with no time for a social life. As the executive assistant to a local philanthropic businessman, he's used to fielding requests for donations. But when a letter from Claire's eleven-year-old daughter reaches his desk, everything changes. The girl isn't asking for money, but for help finding the long-lost son of an elderly neighbor.

As Keith digs reluctantly into this complicated assignment, he has no idea how intertwined his life and Claire's will become--nor how one little girl's kindhearted request will touch so many lives and reap so many blessings.


This was a really sweet, memorable story. Both the main and supporting characters were just right. Claire and Keith are not just likeable, but feel like real people you would know and see in your own life. Their steady, cute, bumpy and sometimes awkward road to romance was lovely to watch. Their own journey's with their individual issues was worked so well into the story, that it felt natural. The faith element was played well, not too strong and handled with care. A lovely spring read truly!


Thank you to NetGalley for a copy of this novel for review.  I was in no way obliged to give a positive review.


Jess' favourite genre is contemporary women's fiction and contemporary romance fiction. She also enjoys historical fiction with a focus on romance. She loves books set in country towns or farms with a cowboy featured in either historical or contemporary settings.

She is currently writing her first novel, a contemporary women's fiction/romance set in a small country town.